Print this page

Research Section

Effectiveness of the Chronic Disease Self-Management Program

The Chronic Disease Self-management program was developed by Stanford Patient Education Research Center, whose programs, around since the 1980s, are currently used in 24 countries. The first randomized controlled trial of the Stanford program was completed in 1996 and included results for 1,000 people followed over three years. It demonstrated significant improvements in patient’s ability to manage their chronic disease(s) and use health care resources effectively, with a cost-effectiveness ration of 1:10.  Results showed statistically significant improvements in physical exercise, emotional distress, communication with physicians, and reduction in anxiety, fatigue, incapacity and limitations in social functioning, along with unplanned hospital admissions and physician visits. Results have been validated through successful implementation that produced similar results in different countries and populations, including Canada. Similar results have occurred in the MUHC patient population who on average are living with three chronic conditions.

Initial Research 

The research on self-management programs began with an evaluation of the Arthritis Self-Management Program and found that experimental subjects exceeded control subjects significantly in knowledge, recommended behaviours and in lessened pain, and that these changes remained significant at 20 months (Lorig, Lubeck et al, 1985).
It also found that tested forms of reinforcement did not alter those effects (Lorig & Holman, 1989), and that lay persons can deliver the program with results similar to those achieved by professionals leading the program (Lorig, et al., 1986). Locally, the effectiveness of self-management training for arthritis has been documented (McGowan & Green, 1995; Green, Gutman, McGowan, & Wister, 1996). As well, in 1992, the Arthritis Self-Management Program was implemented and evaluated in 
First Nations communities in B.C.

The Chronic Disease Self-Management Program was initially tested in a randomised, controlled trial conducted by the Stanford University Patient Education Research Centre (Lorig, Sobel, Stewart, Brown, Bandura, Ritter, Gonzalez, Laurent, & Holman, 1999). In this study, effectiveness was measured in terms of changes in behaviour, health status, and health service utilisation. Data were collected from two groups at two points six months apart. Data were collected by mailed questionnaires from 952 patients (all over age 40), of which 561 were randomly assigned to the treatment group and 391 to the control group (those who did not receive the program). There were no significant differences in baseline data between the treatment and control groups.

Health behaviour changes occurred more often in the treatment group than in the control group (p ‹ 0.01) for all three behaviour-change indicators: number of minutes per week of exercise; increased practice of cognitive symptom management; and improved communication with their physician. Treatment group subjects also had more positive scores for self-related health status, including disability, social/role activity limitation, energy/fatigue, and health distress. Finally, fewer hospitalizations and fewer nights in hospital were found for the treatment group. No significant differences in visits to physicians were identified, however. In a two-year post-program follow-up study (Lorig, Ritter, Stewart, Sobel, Brown, Bandura, Gonzalez, Laurent & Holman, 2001) the researchers found ". compared with baseline for each of the two years, emergency room and outpatient visits and health distress were reduced (P ‹ 0.05), and self-efficacy improved (P ‹ 0.05)."

In Canada

The CDSMP was implemented as a pilot program in the Yukon in 1998 and has since become a permanent government-funded program. An evaluation conducted by McGowan (2000) [Microsoft Word format] showed that, four months after the program, participants had statistically significant improvements on 12 of 17 outcome measures.

Recently, a comprehensive literature review found that self-management training is effective in helping people manage diabetes, asthma, hypertension, depression, and congestive heart failure (BC Office of Health Technology Assessment, 2002).

In 2000, the CDSMP was implemented in the Vancouver and Richmond Health Regions and subsequently became a permanent program. Findings from two evaluations of the program (September 2001 and June 2003) were similar to the Yukon findings.

In December 2001, Health Canada funded a 28-month project (McGowan, Lorig, & Van Walleghem) to implement and evaluate the CDSMP for persons with Type 2 diabetes in British Columbia. The evaluation of this project is now complete and available here.

In the Spring of 2003, the BC Ministry of Health provided resources to the University of Victoria - Centre on Aging to implement and evaluate the CDSMP in each health region

The Chronic Disease Self-Management Program - Program Evaluation British Columbia 2003 - 2006 is now available.

Chronic Disease Self-Management Program - A Public Health publication, a new study conducted by Mathew Lee Smith et al., April 2015: Reaching diverse participants utilizing a diverse delivery infrastructure: a replication study.

 


Previous page: CDSMP History
Next page: References

Imprimer cette page

Recherches effectuées

 

Efficacité du programme d'autogestion des maladies chroniques

Le programme d’autogestion des maladies chroniques a été développé à l’Université de Stanford par le "Patient Education Research Center", dont les programmes mis au point depuis les années 1980 sont actuellement utilisés dans 24 pays. Le premier essai aléatoire contrôlé du programme, réalisé par Stanford en 1996, a suivi quelque 1000 patients pendant trois ans. Les résultats ont montré d’importantes améliorations dans la capacité des patients gérer leur maladie chronique ainsi que dans l’utilisation efficace des ressources de santé, avec un rapport cout/efficacité de 1 :10. Des améliorations statistiquement significatives ont été observées dans l’exercice physique, la gestion des émotions, la communication avec les médecins, le contrôle de l’anxiété, la fatigue, l’incapacité et la fonctionnement social. Par ailleurs, les consultations médicales et les admissions à l’hôpital non prévues ont diminué. Le programme a été validé par l’obtention de résultats similaires dans divers pays et auprès de diverses populations, dont le Canada. 

La recherche sur les programmes d'autogestion a commencé par une évaluation du programme d’autogestion pour l'arthrite. Ces études ont démontrées que les sujets expérimentaux ont dépassé les sujets témoins de manières significatives dans les connaissances, comportements recommandés et que leur douleur a diminuée. De plus, ces changements sont restés significatifs à 20 mois (Lorig, Lubeck et al, 1985). C’était également constaté que les formes éprouvées de renfort ne modifient pas ces effets (Lorig & Holman, 1989), et que les amateurs peuvent offrir le programme avec des résultats semblables à ceux réalisés par les professionnels de santé (Lorig, et al., 1986). Localement, l'efficacité de l'autogestion de l'arthrite a été documentée (McGowan et Green, 1995; Green, Gutman, McGowan & Wister, 1996). En outre, en 1992, le programme d’autogestion pour l'arthrite a été mis en œuvre et évalué dans les communautés des Premières nations en Colombie-Britannique.

Le programme d’autogestion des maladies chroniques a été testé initialement dans une étude contrôlée et randomisée menée par l'Université Stanford « Patient Education Research Centre » (Lorig, Sobel, Stewart, Brown, Bandura, Ritter, Gonzalez, Laurent, & Holman, 1999). Dans cette étude, l'efficacité a été mesurée en termes de changements sur les comportements, l'état de santé, et l'utilisation des services de santé. Les données ont été recueillies auprès de deux groupes à deux d'intervalles de six mois . Les données ont été recueillies par questionnaires envoyés à 952 patients (tous plus de 40 ans), dont 561 ont été assignés au hasard au groupe de traitement et 391 au groupe témoin (ceux qui n'ont pas reçu le programme). Il n'y avait aucune différence significative dans les données de base entre les groupes de traitement et de contrôle.

Les changements dans les comportements de santé sont survenus plus souvent dans le groupe traité que dans le groupe témoin (p <0,01) pour tous les trois indicateurs de changement des comportements: nombre de minutes d'exercice par semaine, la pratique accrut de la gestion des symptômes cognitifs, et une meilleure communication avec leurs médecins. Les sujets dans le groupe de traitement ont eu également des mesures plus positives pour l'autoévaluation sur leur état de santé, y compris moins de difficultés physiques, une meilleure gestion de leur maladie et leurs rôles de vie, moins de fatigue, et moins de détresse. De plus, il y a eu moins d’hospitalisations et moins de nuits à l'hôpital dans le groupe expérimental. Cependant, aucune différence significative dans les nombres de visites aux médecins n’a été identifiée. Par exemple, dans un suivi deux années après le programme d'étude (Lorig, Ritter, Stewart, Sobel, Brown, Bandura, Gonzalez, Laurent & Holman, 2001) les chercheurs ont constaté pour chacun des deux ans, par rapport aux valeurs initiales, les visites aux salles d'urgence et des consultations en cliniques externes et la détresse de santé ont été réduits, et l'auto-efficacité a amélioré.

Au Canada

Le CDSMP a été exécuté comme projet pilote au Yukon en 1998, et depuis est devenu un programme permanent financé par ce gouvernement. Une évaluation menée par McGowan (2000) a montré que, quatre mois après avoir suivi le programme, les participants avaient eu des améliorations statistiquement significatives sur 12 des 17 mesures de résultats.

Récemment, une analyse documentaire approfondie a révélée que la formation en autogestion est efficace pour aider les gens à gérer le diabète, l'asthme, l'hypertension, la dépression et l'insuffisance cardiaque (BC Office of Health Technology Assessment, 2002).
En 2000, le CDSMP a été mis en œuvre dans les régions de Vancouver et de Richmond pour ensuite devenir un programme permanent. Les conclusions sur deux évaluations du programme (
septembre 2001 et juin 2003) étaient semblables aux constatations du Yukon.

En décembre 2001, Santé Canada a financé un projet de 28 mois (McGowan, Lorig, & Van Walleghem) pour mettre en œuvre et évaluer les CDSMP pour les personnes diabétiques de type 2 en Colombie-Britannique. L'évaluation de ce projet est maintenant terminée et disponible ici.

Au printemps 2003, le ministère provincial de la Santé de la Colombie-Britannique a fourni des ressources à l'Université de Victoria, Centre sur le vieillissement, pour mettre en œuvre les CDSMP dans chaque région de la province et de les évaluer.


NOUVEAU: L’évaluation du programme d’autogestion des maladies chroniques de la Colombie-Britannique 2003 - 2006 est maintenant disponible.

Nouvelle publication : Matthew Lee Smith et al., Reaching diverse participants utilizing a diverse delivery infrastructure: a replication study, April 2015.


Page précédente: L'Historique
Page Suivante: Références